Lelahell’s first full-length album preceded by only one EP. The (Re)birth of Abderrahmane encompasses a brutal force which is led by their uniqueness in style, unlike modern stereotypical Death Metal.

Check out the Album Teaser:

  • Tracklist

1- Mazagran (Intro)

2- Al Intissar

3- Voices Revealed

4- Kalimet Essir

5- Hypnose

6- Imzad

7- Am I in Hell?

8- Hillal

9- Black Hands

10- Mizmar

The album follows a thematically intact background revealed before the music itself through the album title and cover, and more importantly through the 19 seconds of “Mazagran”, which sounds like Ashurian/Akkadian if not a different Semitic language. Spending no more time than needed with the introductory track, “Al Intissar” unfolds the musical content of the album to be Technical Death Metal with instances influenced by Nile’s style, but mostly old Death Metal, notably in the rapid drumming approach (semi-blast beats and drum rolls, etc…). The guitars explore a unique and distinct integration of oriental music with Death Metal, and are kept tightly intact with the drums as the vocals vary between “low” guttural growls and “high” growls. The album takes a break with “Imzad” as basically 48 seconds of a repetitive guitar pattern with a percussive instrument on the background, which is entirely unnecessary…


On another note, the parallelism in the track titles is broken with the seventh track; when all the titles are nouns of something grandiose (“Al Intissar”, which is Arabic for The Victory), or poetic (Black Hands), or simply indefinite and open to interpretations (Hypnose, Mizmar), the seventh track breaks this by being a simple emotional question “Am I in Hell?” Given the content of the album itself, I personally think the band could have been more creative.

Al Insane…The Rebirth of Abderrahmane is a very brutal album with unique style and thematic integrity, a great expression of potential from Lelahell and definitely a great listen for every Death Metal fan.

  • Links

Lelahell on Facebook