After directing the widely successful Global Metal (2008) and Metal: A Headbanger’s Journey (2005) among others, Sam Dunn is now continuing his documentary efforts with the TV series “Metal Evolution”. The first season explores 11 Metal genres, each one thoroughly dissected and explained through in-depth interviews with Metal’s most influential personalities and others who shaped the Heavy Metal Family Tree.

Here’s the series trailer:

  • Season 1’s episode list:

1- Pre Metal
2- Early Metal, Part 1: US Division
3- Early Metal, Part 2: UK Division
4- New Wave of British Heavy Metal
5- Glam Metal
6- Thrash
7- Grunge
8- Nu Metal
9- Shock Rock
10- Power Metal
11- Progressive Metal