So here it is, the EP released by RoadRunner Records for the third part of God of War, the popular video game developed by Sony Computer Entertainment’s Santa Monica Studios whose epic battles, advanced graphics quality and the ever so intriguing plot have captivated video gamers worldwide. Six of RoadRunner Records’ top artists have come together to put out this significantly important release for the game industry.

God of War III

  • Tracklist

1. Killswitch Engage – My Obsession

2. Trivium – Shattering The Skies Above

3. Dream Theater – Raw Dog

4. Taking Dawn – This Is Madness

5. Opeth – The Throat Of Winter

6. Mutiny Within – The End

Opeth - The Throat of Winter (God of War III)

  • My Obsession

I’ve never been a fan of Killswitch Engage and this song does sound like all their original releases (a good fact for their fans)! The song is half aggressive (semi-breakdowns) – half melodic (extended chorus) and I’d say it’s a pretty good opener for this EP! And as the vocalist mentioned: “I have played the previous God of War releases. To be a part of this game in any fashion is amazing! Let the rivers flow red with blood; there is vengeance to bestow! Bring me more new finishing blows to my enemies!”.

Rating: 8/10

  • Shattering the Skies Above

Another new school band “Trivium” provides this highly aggressive song with the growl attack, half-song breakdown and an interesting guitar solo to follow. The song also goes for melody with the chorus a couple of times throughout those five minutes. And as the vocalist mentioned: “… we answered the call as we are fans of the game. Writing the song was a fun experience. We started piecing riffs together on tour and then we really put time into the song when we got home and had the chance to go into the practice space to work on our ideas as a group. This new song captures a certain energy we’ve been trying to harness on record as well, as it will show all our fans worldwide where Trivium is heading musically in the future.”

Rating: 8/10

  • Raw Dog

One of the two veteran bands on this EP release, Dream Theater deliver a killer instrumental track that’s my personal favorite on this EP release (although I’m no Dream Theater enthusiast and I actually prefer Opeth) and the reason of its brilliance is that it’s instrumental 😀 I am personally more comfortable playing video games with instrumental tracks rather than ones with vocals (I guess I think of it as a distraction). Anyways here’s what drummer Mike Portnoy had to say about this: “This is the first time in 24 years that we’ve written and recorded a song for anything other than one of our own albums, so we’re up for the challenge and excited to have been asked”.

Rating: 10/10

  • This is Madness

Taking Down is the other relatively unknown band on this EP release but I was impressed with their melodic capabilities right from the start. The song is fast and melodic and the vocals are well-varied (especially on that chorus). Here’s what the frontman had to say about this: “If this track doesn’t whip you into a blood-frenzied fervor to vanquish vain demigods and demolish dickhead deities, then seek a neurosurgeon and see if your insurance covers testicle transplants, because you either have no brains or no balls. I love you, my little nymphs. So until next time, get some serious stains all over those Sony systems and be shred, or be dead!”.

Rating: 8/10

  • The Throat of Winter

After listening to the previous songs on the album, I expected a very aggressive Opeth song to come and dominate all the others (yes I’m taking sides with my favorite band) BUT… BUT Opeth decided to write this odd calm atmospheric weird Opeth-like material which may sound completely unlike some of their material but in fact it’s what their future records might sound like (with more genius twists of course). I really did like the song and I guess it does fit this title (notice the whole winter vs Opeth idea which really fits their style and image) so I’m hoping all of you Opeth fans do like it as well.

Rating: 9/10

  • The End

This song by Mutiny Within also has a ‘new’ feel to it. This song’s structure is built around melodic riffing and clear vocals – driven choruses. This sounds good for a victorious situation and I guess that’s where the end would end, right? Nevertheless, a decent ending for this EP as well as Mutiny Within for the additional exposure they’ll have from fans across the globe.

Rating: 8/10